Australia Day

26 January 2015

95 days to go

About us

The Australia Day Council of South Australia (ADCSA) is an independent, non-profit, membership based association. Funding and support comes from the Australian Government (via the National Australia Day Council), the Government of South Australia, Adelaide City Council, our membership base (including all Local Councils, Corporate Club and Individual Members), sponsorships, grants, merchandise sales and partnerships.

To facilitate our aim of encouraging all Australians to 'Celebrate What's Great' about Australia and being Australian, a number of major events and programs are run that focus on Australia Day. National programs we coordinate at State Level include the Australian of the Year Awards and the Australia Day Ambassadors. Our major Statewide events include the Adelaide City Council Australia Day Concert, the Australia Day Parade, the Australia Day Luncheon and our Australia Day Awards Ceremony at Government House.

At State level, we run the Citizen of the Year Awards (also including Young Citizen and Community Event of the Year), the Minister for Education & Development's Award for Excellence in Languages and Culture and the "Women Hold Up Half The Sky" Award. These Awards are all presented on Australia Day Eve at our Awards Ceremony.

Nationally we run the Australia Day in the Office program (on behalf of the Australia Day network), the Award for Muslim & non-Muslim Understanding (in conjunction with UniSA), and our Aussie Merchandise program which raises valuable funds for our activities.

The ADCSA acts as an umbrella organisation for Australia Day events providing marketing support to help spread the Australia Day message. At local Government level, the ADCSA provides support to Councils and organising committees for their 130+ Australia Day events including certificates and frames for their Australia Day Awards.

Annual Reports

Please click the links below to access our Annual Reports:

Annual Report 2013-2014
Annual Report 2012-2013
Annual Report 2011-2012
Annual Report 2010-2011
Annual Report 2009-2010
Annual Report 2008-2009
Annual Report 2007-2008

Australia Day Council of South Australia Board of Management


Ms. Adriana Christopoulos


Cr. Houssam Abiad (Deputy Chair)
Mr. Norman Schueler  (Deputy Chair)
Cr. Michael Henningsen
Mr. Ralph Clarke
Mr. Leonard D'Aloia (Treasurer)
Cr. Barry Featherston
Mr. Tim Jackson
Mayor Gary Johanson
Cr. Arthur Mangos
Mr. Steve Maras
Mr. Norman Schueler
Mr. Peter Tsokas
Ms. Francene Connor
Cr. Mark Groote
Mr. Craig Brooke 
Hon. Russell Wortley MLC 


Australia Day Council of South Australia Staff

Matthew Miles

Bill Bell

Emma Chidlow 

Australia Day Council of South Australia Contact Details

200 Victoria Square, Adelaide SA 5000
Postal:GPO Box 2343, Adelaide SA 5001

 Ph: (08) 8463 5436

Fax: (08) 8463 5449
Twitter:  @AustraliaDaySA
Youtube:  AustraliaDaySA

To hear more about the Australia Day Council of South Australia, join our mailing list