Australia Day

26 January 2015

97 days to go

Australian of the Year

Each year our nation celebrates the achievement and contribution of eminent Australians through the Australian of the Year Awards by profiling leading citizens who are role models for us all. They inspire us through their achievements and challenge us to make our own contribution to creating a better Australia.

The Australian of the Year Awards provides all Australians with the opportunity to recognise someone who makes them proud.

Congratulations to everyone who was nominated for the 2014 awards, and in particular, the 16 finalists and 4 award recipients who were honoured at the awards ceremony on Tuesday 12 November. The 4 recipients bacame national finalists and moved on to Canberra on Australia Day Eve for the national announcement. You can see all the photos from the event on our Australia Day in SA Facebook page.

To nominate, or find out more about the Australian of the Year Awards please visit the website



AUSTRALIAN OF THE YEAR (SA) - Dr Felicity-ann Lewis - Community Leader

Australian of the Year (SA) Finalists:

Bill Denny AM - Veterans' and community advocate 

Trudi Penrose-Starr - Bereavement support group co-founder

Neil Sachse - Spinal Cord injury campaigner


SENIOR AUSTRALIAN OF THE YEAR (SA) - Dr Barbara Hardy AO  - Scientist and environmental leader

Senior Australian of the Year (SA) Finalists:

Professor Malcolm Haskard - Microelectric engineer

Henry Jones - Water Conservationist

Sister Patricia Sealey - Refugee advocate


YOUNG AUSTRALIAN OF THE YEAR (SA) - Julian O'Shea - Engineer

Young Australian of the Year (SA) Finalists:

Tara Fatehi - Community volunteer

Travis Ranson - Parkour instructor

Jadon Tree - Indigenous ambassador


LOCAL HERO (SA) - Dean Walker - Community Constable

Local Hero (SA) Finalists

Aileen Jefferis - Community leader

Rod Lewis - Refugee mentor

Paul Whitton - Volunteer


The Australian of the Year Awards are proudly presented in South Australia by the Australia Day Council of South Australia in partnership with Brand South Australia